ChompTimesNom! Raspberry Protein Cupcakes

This recipe sadly didn’t make it into KitaCon Invasion’s conbook, but here it is all the same! 😀

 3e9d32e6-e155-42a4-8bb3-6acfa8fd4a5f_zpsf00383c9

When cooking with whey, you can never expect them to be EXACTLY like the original. They will have a different texture, they will be slightly different in flavour. I’m the kind of person who likes to eat in volume, quantity definitely comes before quality (within reason) so I’d rather have 3 slightly less perfect cupcakes than one calorie ridden one. It’s just easier for me to fit these in my macros, I’m not saying you have to do the same, but if you’re like me and don’t have the “STOP EATING NOW” function then these might be for you 🙂 Ideally we’d be able to eat sweets all day and never worry about getting chunky, but humans haven’t quite developed that well yet. Until we do, here’s a cupcake recipe that’s low in calories, carbs and fat but loaded with protein and fibre! 

For 9 cupcakes you will need:

55g of Vanilla Whey Protein Powder (I used The Protein Works Naked Vanilla Whey Concentrate)
170g of Quark (Fat Free Greek Yogurt would also work)
30g of Coconut flour
25g of  Plain rolled Oats
3 large egg whites
10g of unsweetened desiccated coconut
40ml of skimmed milk
½ teaspoon of baking powder
100g of frozen raspberries.
Sweetener to taste, I used liquid Vanilla Sweetener Drops (you can use sugar if preferred)

For Icing:
150g Greek yogurt
25g Vanilla Casein Protein Powder. I used My Protein’s Vanilla Calcium Caseinate (Whey will not work!)

 

This recipe gets a little complicated so pay attention…

Except the berries, add all the ingredients to a bowl and mix mix mix! Stir in the berries and pour into 9 silicone cupcake molds and bake at 170C for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. :3

Jpeg

Jpeg

 

 

 

 

Leave them to cool for about ten minutes while you mix up the icing. When the icing is thick and stiff (lololol) bully it into a sealable sandwich or freezer bag and the tip of the corner. Use this as a piping bag and squeeze the icing in a circular motion round the top! Top with another raspberry and you’re done!

 

Per cupcake with icing (using the brands I did)
Calories: 94
Protein: 13
Fat: 2
Carbohydrates: 6
Fibre: 2

 

Smile for me,
Ansi xx

 

About ansistar

Ciao! Armed with a wooden spoon, I'm a 23 year old (18 at heart) Annie with an insatiable hunger to prove myself as something. Welcome to my blog where you will find details of my life and recovery and also my ChompTimesNom! recipes with my little mascot, Chompy. Stop for a coffee, why don't you? Keep smiling xx
This entry was posted in ChompTimesNom! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ChompTimesNom! Raspberry Protein Cupcakes

  1. feedmecolor says:

    Have you ever tried replacing the coconut flour with something else?

    • ansistar says:

      Hello, lovely. If for whatever reason you don’t want to use coconut flour then you could sub for more oats. Ideally the oats should be blended until they’re a flour, however, I kinda dig the chunkiness of whole oats so that one is your call. I would hazard a guess at needed around 80-90g of oats but I haven’t tried this

Leave a Reply

